“Milk for Real Men” and the Universal Credit

Walking home from work the other day I saw this ad staring back at me on a phone box.

Silly for a number of reasons:

  1. Am I not a real man if I don’t drink milk whilst hanging off cliffs?
  2. Am I not a real man if I’m not muscled up to the max or if I choose not to buy bulking products that will make me bigger?
  3. If I’m not a real man does this mean I’m a woman? Gasp! The horror of such a concept!

I know this ad is really a shameless ploy into getting me to feel ashamed of myself and purchase their product, but really it just made me extra glad that I’m not a buff dude who ploughs money into such companies.

I’ve been a member of the Bevan Foundation for a couple of years no. It’s a bit weird to be a paid-up member of a think tank, it’s not something I ever thought I’d do, but actually it’s just about getting great news updates on social justice issues in Wales – so basically bang on the money considering what I’m interested in. Their blog is well worth a read. Victoria Winckler has blogged about the threat of Universal Credit to Equality. It’s an interesting article as it’s not what I’d initially thought of when I heard about the Universal Credit, but not only will the credit severely affect the disabled and exclude those that are the wrong side of the digital divide, but it will also entrench divisions of labour in households.

The BBC’s programme ‘Women at the top‘ has looked at why so few women make it to the top in the world of business. I’d comment further, but I haven’t had the chance to watch this yet as I don’t have a TV and a certain telecoms company that I won’t mention (Orange) are ridiculously slow in getting our broadband installed.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““Milk for Real Men” and the Universal Credit

  1. The Thrifty Mum says:

    Ha! From personal experience of going out with someone who bought these ridiculous weight gain drinks I can vouch that they indeed do not make you a real man. What they do seem to make you though is a self-obsessed, arrogant shite with anti-social digestion from all that poor quality synthetic protein. And there’s nothing less attractive than a man who fancies himself more than he fancies you.

    As ever, I’m loving your work x

    • Cheers! I’m a big rugby fan, following a load of Welsh rugby players on Twitter, and there’s a big focus on this stuff, which is scary thinking they are idols for young people in Wales. The archetypal Welsh man is now a huge dude, not someone whol looks like your average person walking down the street.

      Very true on the arrogance too – it’s never a good look!

Leave a comment