Penny Red vs patriarchy

There’s some stuff I tend not to blog about it, even though it’s pretty heavy stuff that people need to hear, examine and think about. Over the last couple of weeks you may have heard about Todd Akin‘s statement that the female body could naturally abort pregnancy when “legitimate rape” had taken place. I didn’t cover this, despite it being a blatant feminist issue, partly because the rest of the internet seemed to have it covered, and partly because I felt that as a guy I wouldn’t be able to sum up what is just about the worst thing one human being could do to another.  Obviously guys can be victims of rape too, but this was not the context of Akin’s statement.

Despite being a guy blogging about gender issues, Feminism is a movement best led by women otherwise it risks being undermined. However where I do think plenty of dudes out there can easily help it to call “bullshit” when you hear someone say something dodgy, sexist or just despicable. I kinda felt others were doing it better than I could ever do. I suggest you read Penny Red‘s blog instead, which is about as thought-provoking and moving a blog as you’re likely to read.

In a completely opposite vein, Heather McRobie has written for Open Democracy on how Feminism is currently caught up with the female body and wider social issues are not being examined. I don’t like writing about patriarchy, mainly cos I’m part of it (my gender), but her argument seems to fall flat to me as the language seems to me to be dictated by patriarchal forces.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

